Skip to content

Both sides of my now

November 1, 2010

Working and raising children really are very similar endeavors. 

Daily care of each is best handled at least starting with a to do list. 

Both require patience and understanding everyday. 

Being able to multitask if very helpful for each. 

They can drive you to drink… oh wait, is that just me, nah, can’t be!

Both can increase your confidence or make you feel like the you have no idea what you’re doing… sometimes all in the same day.  And that was my day today. 

 The day started out mildly enough… ridiculousness from the usual cast of characters at work that quickly escalated to pissing me off.  I’m usually pretty good at leaving work at work and I did that today too until the evening started skidding downhill then my earlier frustrations can speeding back to the knots in my shoulders.

S is traveling for work so I’m solo with T this week.  I had planned for us to meet a friend and her little girl for dinner.  T was excited as always about going to CFA but he was uncharacteristically unruly, to put it mildly, tonight and I was beside myself by the time we left dinner, cut short by the fact that he thought it would be fun to run around the restaurant away from me.  Seeing as how it annoys the crap out of me to see other people “let” their children roam freely in a restaurants this did NOT sit well with me.  Once I acted like I was going to leave without him however he showed up at my side.  Crying then ensued as we exited to the car and he learned that NO he would NOT be watching TV before his bath, as if!  I remained quiet on the way home then sat him down for a “discussion” about how we do and do not behave in public.  Oh yes, I almost forgot, at some point in his insanity at CFA he scrapped the bottom of his foot while he was climbing on the door to the play area then jumping down as I approached to snatch him down, so now he was hurt which was making  discipline somewhat harder to accomplish.  We headed to the bath, me carrying the injured T of course, then he worked himself into a crying fit once into the bath that led to him throwing up a little which meant the bath had to move to another bathroom. 

FINALLY I got him in bed and then I came downstairs and stole a piece of his Halloween candy.  That’s right, I stole from my child because he pissed me off!  Ok, that’s not really stealing, but any way you look at it, I think after tonight I deserve that piece of bubble gun dang it!

Here’s hoping tomorrow is much less eventful on both sides of the day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. akazookeeper permalink
    January 2, 2011 1:00 pm

    3 year olds are harder than 2 year olds I think. Maybe because you know they understand and choose to do it anyway? LOL I have a 3 year old myself and totally sympathize.

  2. January 5, 2011 10:34 pm

    Hey! Thanks for stopping by my place the other day! Thought I’d come by and say hi! Gosh, your post is life with boys in a nutshell. Girl, I feel your pain! I usually hide in the bathroom with chocolate as therapy.

    • January 5, 2011 11:14 pm

      Ha Ha Ha!! Thanks, I may have try hiding next time. 🙂 Love you blog and will be checking back in with you… hoping to improve my blog this year, will see how it goes.

Leave a comment