Skip to content

YAY! I’m Going to Europe

September 25, 2010

I haven’t posted lately because I’ve had a bad combination of writers block and being completely distracted because YAY I’m going to Europe!!! 

It’s kind of come together quickly so I’m spent most of my spare time during the last couple of weeks researching, planning and dreaming about what we’re going to do and how much I can cram into this short trip of ours. 

I’m super excited about going and having this incredible opportunity, but of course I’m also a little freaked out about parts of it as well.  1)I’m always anxious about leaving T for more than a night or two even though I know he will be in the very capable hands of our parents and having a blast I’m sure  2)Taking a very long flight by myself (S is traveling there the week before for work and I’m meeting him) and 3)Concern about the unknown… considering my foreign travel to date has been limited to Mexico beach resort towns which was of course lots of fun but no doubt a completely different experience than this will be.  Unless I should prepare myself to head off pushy timeshare salesmen when I land in Amsterdam or later visit Paris.  ; )

I know most of my worries are irrational and perhaps even ridiculous, but it’s hard to block them out became so much of it is just how I’m wired.  I want so badly to be carefree, which would no doubt mean less self-induced stress and anxiety in my life for situations like this, but alas that is not how God created me and I’m sure there are reasons for that.  Add that to my list of questions to ask after I’ve left this world.

Right now I’ll just focus on being more positive and possibly looking for an anxiety drug of some sort… I’m kidding I’m kidding… maybe.  I’m sure I’ll arrive in Europe safely with enthusiasm and excitement and arrive home with a new and more appreciative world view.

I’m not taking my laptop but I’m hoping to use S’s to blog a little during the trip or worst case scenerio I will journal and catchup on the blog when I return.  Bonjour for now.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2010 10:12 pm

    More important than the anxiety drug……get a prescription for stomach medicine. From what I’m reading, you’ll be over there alone? Seriously take the stomach meds. My mom went on a European tour once with her 2 best friends on a high school trip. Long story short is she got ill and had to be abandoned at what she later learned was a XXX movie theater! EEKS! Her saving grace was that one of her friends happened to be a nurse and gave up her day of fun to help. Her friend had prescription meds that she gave my mom for the duration of the trip, although both of them were worried if her friend also got ill, they would run out of meds.

    Years later, this story is funny to them, but obviously it wasn’t at the time. Now they talk about what a great time they had.

    Sounds like you are being cautiously optimistic, so things should go well. HAVE A GREAT TIME!

  2. October 5, 2010 2:34 am

    Not. Taking. A. Laptop!? I’m very concerned.
    Please, just rethink this again. 🙂 HAHA

    Just kidding!
    Good for yoU!
    xoxo
    JillianB

  3. Jen permalink
    October 15, 2010 11:03 am

    I can’t wait to hear all about your adventures!!

Leave a comment